1/3-stress on stress

I go back to school tomorrow for the first time in two weeks and I’m dreading it. I’m wishing for it to snow so school will be closed. These past two weeks have been heavenly, and I’ve accomplished next to nothing because I didn’t have anything that I immediately needed to do. I’ve been getting 8 full hours of sleep every day (2am-10am, it’s been amazing) and eating junk food and listening to music and watching TV and playing piano and taking photos, and I don’t want to go back.

Because now I’m stressing about the stress I’m going to have back at school. Finals are in two weeks and most of my teachers are going to insist on cramming in another unit, I have to review for the ACTs and SATs, I’m going to try a few more debate tournaments, I’m volunteering with Relay for Life to help plan an event (the most stressful part is that I don’t have a team for the actual Relay for Life), and I’m already wishing it were summer, or better yet senior year when I’m already accepted into college. Or college. Or after college when I have a good job and good friends. Can I just skip to the part of my life when I’m no longer preparing for something and am happy in a steady kind of way?

So yes, I’m stressing about the stress I’m going to have. And I need to find more music, I’ve been listening to the same songs over and over.

  • Best Shot, by Birdy ft. Jaymes Young. I’ll be here, giving it my best shot. Best harmony and blend of voices ever. (I love the entire TFIOS soundtrack.)
  • Free, by Haley Reinhart. She’s the one who’s singing in that cute Extra gum commercial, and I loved her voice so I looked her up.
  • Hollow, by Tori Kelly. Those runs right before the chorus? Perfection.

~the short awkward one

 

One thought on “1/3-stress on stress

  1. Pingback: It’s a New Year! | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

