12/10- Life is okay.

No matter how much I bitch and moan about how my life sucks or I whine about my anxiety or complain about stupid stuff that I and other people do, I know that life’s great. I know that there’s good things happening every day. But I’m not an optimist. There’s a crap ton of bad things going on in the world. That being said, I’m not a pessimist either. I like to think of myself as a realist. Not everything is sunshine and rainbows, but every now and then I see people doing small acts of kindness and that somewhat restores my faith in humanity. So yes, even though my life right now isn’t the peachiest, there are things that happen to make me smile. (I mean, music is the big one here, obviously.)

  • Smile, by Mikky Ekko. Smile, the worst is yet to come/we’ll be lucky if we ever see the sun. The lyrics contrast the cheerier tone of the song, whcih I find really cool. Also, I’m really proud of myself for finding this song before it was put on the Paper Towns soundtrack.
  • High, by Young Rising Suns. This is another upbeat one. Just let it go enjoy the ride/ without the low there ain’t a high. I was literally listening to this all summer because it just seems summery for some reason.
  • OctaHate, by Ryn Weaver. I actually found this in the background of a Youtube video, and it’s quickly become a favorite, Lost in the cracks of the landslide/you saw me slipping on my blind side. This one seems upbeat at first, but if you pay attention to the lyrics they’re actually kind of sad sounding.

~the short awkward one

Leave a Reply

